Menu
Log in


Patent Information Users Group, Inc.

The International Society for Patent Information Professionals

Log in

Highlights of EPO Patent knowledge Week Nov. 2-5, 2021 (replaces EPO Patent Information Conference)

  • 31 Oct 2021 11:06 PM
    Message # 12087968
     EPO Patent Knowledge Week, Online event, 2-5 November 2021

    Patent Knowledge Week, which replaces the EPO's annual Patent Information Conference, is a new four-day digital event which promotes the dissemination of patent information and the generation of patent knowledge.

    Program Highlights (selected presentations, links on the rights to section of the program below)
    Main track “Patent Knowledge”, Nov. 2-4, 2021 (Highlights: Tue, Wed,Thu)
    Patent attorney track Nov.3, 2021 (Wed)
    Asia track, Nov.5,2021 (Fri)
    SME Track, Nov. 2, 2021 (Tue)
    University Track, Nov.4, 2021 (Thu)
    PATLIB Track Nov. 3, 2021 (Thu)


    Registration, by 10/4/2021 7:PM ET.  (Free)

     


     

    Tuesday, 2 November 2021

    Patent knowledge - main track, Moderators: Elizabeth McDonald-Maier and Edward Cooke, EPO

    4:50-6:10 AM ET | 09.50 -11.10 CET

    Welcome speech, António Campinos, President, EPO

    From patent information to patent knowledge
    The transition from patent information to patent knowledge. Richard Flammer, Principal Director Patent Knowledge, EPO
    From Patent Information to IP Intelligence,Thorsten Zank, President, PDG (Head of Center of Information Excellence, BASF)
    Mapping patents on health technologies for the public interest: the MedsPaL and VaxPaL databases. Amina Maillard, Medicines Patent Pool

     

    8:00-9:30 AM ET | 13.00 -14.30 CET

    Plenary presentation: An in-depth look at Espacenet , Roland Feinäugle, EPO

    Discussion round 1 GPI and full text
    Patrick Le Gonidec, EPO
    Björn Jürgens, PATLIB Agencia de Innovación y Desarrollo de Andalucía, ES

    Discussion round 2 Artificial intelligence and IP - friends or foes?
    Alexander Klenner-Bajaja, EPO
    Samuel Davis, amplified.ai

    https://www.epo.org/news-events/events/conferences/patent-knowledge-week/patent-knowledge.html

    Back to the Top


    Tuesday, November 2, 2021

    SME track, Moderator:  Johannes Schaaf, EPO

     5:10 -6:10 AM ET | 10:10 -11:10 CET

     Keynote speech: The economics of patent information, Yann Ménière, EPO

     Key takeaways from innovation case studies, Ilja Rudyk and Thomas Bereuter, EPO


    6:10 -6:40 AM ET | 11:10 -11:40 CET

    Prior art search and basic patent statistics with Espacenet  - case study. Arzu Firlarer, Başkent University(BITTO), PATLIB Centre, TR , Engin Hazar, Krommetal Mühendislik Ltd şti 

    Monitoring and freedom-to-operate searches with GPI - case study with a medical devices company, Björn Jürgens, PATLIB Agencia de Innovación y Desarrollo de Andalucía, ES , Marina Schoenemann, DSruptive, ES


     8:45 -9:05 AM ET | 13:45 -14:05 CET

     Trend monitoring - how to do it yourself, Johannes Schaaf, EPO

     9:05 -9:25 AM ET | 14:05 -14:25 CET

    The Unitary Patent in the starting block, Michael Fröhlich, EPO

    https://www.epo.org/news-events/events/conferences/patent-knowledge-week/sme.html

    Back to the Top


    Wednesday, 3 November 2021

    Patent knowledge - main track

    5:00 – 6:15 AM ET | 10.00 – 11.15 CET

    Patent landscaping, analytics, statistics and everything about gaining more insight
    A short history and outlook for the patent data and analytics industry, Frank Tietze, University of Cambridge.
    Patent analytics at the EPO: insight reports within the framework of FETA (future and emerging technology analysis) activities, Sonia Kaufmann, EPO
    The making of the energy transition report, Yann Ménière, Chief Economist Unit, EPO


    8:00-9:30 AM ET | 13.00 -14.30 CET (in parallel)

    Plenary presentation: CPC. Pierre Held, EPO

    Discussion round 1 Patent valuation and evaluation
    Johannes Schaaf, EPO
    Christian Hackl, TUM-Tech GmbH

    Discussion round 2 Use of design patents as prior art
    Domenico Golzio, EPO
    Giacomo Bertelli, Google Italy
    Guido Moradei, QUAESTIO
    https://www.epo.org/news-events/events/conferences/patent-knowledge-week/patent-knowledge.html

    Back to the Top


    Wednesday, 3 November 2021

    Patent attorney track, Moderator:  Yolanda Sánchez García, EPO

    5:00 – 6:00AM ET | 10.00 – 11.00 CET

    Patents in the new era of artificial intelligence, Susanne Hantos, Davies Collison Cave

    From patent information to patent knowledge and beyond, Dietmar Pressner, European patent attorney

    More than ticking a box - some ideas on further integrating patent information, Eric de Cock van Gimst, SONION Nederland BV


    8:00-9:30 AM ET | 13.00 -14.30 CET

    Patent families: does the information that is currently available really meet the needs of stakeholders?. Guido Moradei,.  QUAESTIO

    The European Patent Register and associated alerts. Yolanda Sánchez García, EPO

    Access to court decisions related to patents and the ECLI, Ignacio Muñoz Ozores, EPO

    Recent Chinese patent law changes - what European applicants can expect, Ming Deng, CPA Munich Office

    https://www.epo.org/news-events/events/conferences/patent-knowledge-week/patent-attorney.html

    Back to the Top


    Wednesday, 3 November 2021

    PATLIB track, Moderator: Rainer Kaysan, EPO

    9:00 -9:10 AM  &  9:25 -9:30 AM  (Q&A) ET | 14.00 -14.10  & 14:25 -14.30 (Q&A) CET

    Synergies between the EPO and PatCom
    Roland Feinäugle, EPO
    Paul Peters, PatCom

    https://www.epo.org/news-events/events/conferences/patent-knowledge-week/patlib.html

    Back to the Top

     
     

    Thursday, 4 November 2021

    Patent knowledge - main track

    5:00 – 6:15 AM ET | 10.00 – 11.15 CET

    Legal insight for patent searchers
    One small step for a man, an inventive step for the patent office?. Eric de Cock van Gimst, Sonion Nederland B.V.
    The Unitary Patent in the starting block. Michael Fröhlich, EPO
    Claim interpretation tips for patent information professionals. Susanne Hantos, Senior Patent Counsel/Manager, Patent Intelligence Services, Davies Collison Cave

     

    8:00-9:40 AM ET | 13.00 -14.40 CET

    Patent data insights
    Patent data insights overview. Sofie Leplae, EPO
    Overview of EPO's bulk data products and services. Vesna Vajsbaher, EPO
    In historical outlook on prior-art data at the EPO.  David Horat, EPO
    Legal event data: Status and outlook; INPADOC classification. Christian Soltmann and Sonia Kaufmann, EPO
    European Publication Server Webservices and Linked Open Data. Patrick le Gonidec, EPO

    Q&A

     Outlook to Patent Data User Day 2022. Sylvia Kocara, EPO

     Main track wrap-up. Christoph Ernst, Vice-President Legal and International Affairs, EPO

     https://www.epo.org/news-events/events/conferences/patent-knowledge-week/patent-knowledge.html

    Back to the Top


    Thursday, 4 November 2021

    University track, Moderator:  Enrico Luzzatto, EPO

    5:00 – 6:25 AM ET | 10.00 – 11.25 CET

    Patent Knowledge, Universities, TTOs: an essential friendship.Andrea Piccaluga, NETVAL

    Getting to grips with PI: well worth the effort. Ilja Rudyk, EPO

    From research project to commercialisation: the role of PI . Geert Boedt, EPO


     

    7:05 – 7:15 AM ET | 12.05 – 12.15 CET  +Q&A

    Overlooked but essential: prior art from Asia . Jutta Haußer and Jürgen Mühl, EPO

     8:30 – 8:50 AM ET | 13.30 – 13.50 CET  +Q&A

    The Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine: technology transfer in real time, Matt Carpenter, Oxford University Innovation Limited

     9 :10 – 9:50 AM ET | 14.10 – 14.50 CET

    Panel discussion: PI, universities and technology transfer: getting the message across
    Andrea Piccaluga, NETVAL
    Christophe Haunold, TTO, University of Luxembourg
    Thomas Withnell, EPO
    Idil Buse Kok Hazer, Director, ODTÜ Technology Transfer Office
    Matt Carpenter, Oxford University Innovation Limited

    https://www.epo.org/news-events/events/conferences/patent-knowledge-week/university.html

    Back to the Top



    Friday, 5 November 2021

    Asia track. Moderator:  Jürgen Mühl, EPO

     5:10 – 5:30 AM ET | 10.10 – 10.30 CET

    Who's who? Challenges when searching Asian documentation for applicants and owners, Philippe Bodart, Total Energies

    5:30 – 6:10 AM ET | 10.30 – 11.10 CET

    Panel discussion: Getting to know Asian patent filers

    Transliteration versus translation in Asian names - the perspective of a linguist. Jutta  Haußer, EPO 
    The importance of standardising of names - the perspective of industry. Arndt Mecke, Siemens 
    Applicant names and the art of citing Asian patent document - the perspective of an examiner. Christoph Wirner, EPO .
    Change of ownership - the perspective of a commercial provider. Kim Donghyun, Lexis Nexis
    Asian names in the EPO's databases - the perspective of a data specialist. Tania Malmierca, EPO

    6:10 – 6:40 AM ET | 11.10 – 11.40 CET

    Glimpses at the EPO's workbench 
     
    Applicant names and non-patent literature. Jenny Olausson, EPO 
    Crossing borders: applications with different Asian applicants. Kati Clarke, EPO 
    Applicant names in DOCDB. Tania Malmierca, EPO 
    Creating patent families - the impact of dual filing in China. Sofie Leplae, EPO

    6:40 – 7:00 AM ET | 11.40 – 12.00 CET

    Monitoring innovation in Asia: case studies using the national offices´ databases, Jutta Haußer and Jürgen Mühl, EPO

    https://www.epo.org/news-events/events/conferences/patent-knowledge-week/asia.html

    Back to the Top

    Update 11/1/2021 11:30 AM  A schedule of presentation has been updated based on the final program of the conference

    Last modified: 02 Nov 2021 11:25 PM | Anonymous member

© 2022 The Patent Information Users Group, Inc.   

Mailing Address:  40 E. Main St., #1438

Newark, DE  19711

Phone: +1 (302) 660-3275   Fax: +1 (302) 660-3276

Email: PIUGinfo@piug.org

Webmaster: webmaster@piug.org

Follow PIUG:  

 

Go to PIUG TwitterGo to PIUG LinkedIn

Notice on use of PIUG name and logo:  

No one may use the PIUG name or logo for any promotional or commercial purpose or any other purpose without the prior written consent of the PIUG Board of Directors.  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software